iDesign Sunday: International Memories

Two days ago last year I was being dropped off at an airport with bags larger than me in tow.  It was my last day on Roman soil – I had a great study abroad experience there – and I knew that I would miss everything about it!  My friends and I have made remarks, Facebook posts, and texted each other this whole year since about how much we miss it, and wondering if we could catch the next plane there… Yea, right. Lolz.

The flowers in bloom around campus and near my apartment are causing me to long for the openness of the European outdoors – whether in the city or on a historic site.  I miss all of the spectacular views.  So I’m going to skip off beat a little and reminisce here, and I hope you enjoy my photographs from around Italy! =)

Being the old school jam lover that I am, listen to Minnie Ripperton’s – “Memory Lane” as you browse my memory in photographic form!

Such a gorgeous garden. I love this view. Villa Lante – near Viterbo in the Lazio region of Italy.

fountains in the rear of Villa d’Este – located in Tivoli, in the Lazio region of Italy

fountains in Villa d’Este

the axis through town which leads directly to the center of Palazzo Farnese – this picture is taken from the balcony therein – in Caprarola, in the Lazio region of Italy

Ponte Vecchio (bridge) – located in Florence, Tuscany, Italy

My classmates having a field day at a walled city in Tuscany, Italy

view from The Boboli Gardens at Palazzo Pitti (Museo degli Argenti) – Florence, Tuscany, Italy

close up of some of the symmetry seen in The Boboli Gardens – Florence, Tuscany, Italy

I have never traveled to Egypt, but there is no doubt that I have seen a Pyramid =) – located in Rome, Lazio, Italy

once again.. never been to Egypt, but I have seen several obelisks.. Some real, some fake – all pretty ancient. This one is located in Piazza Navona as part of the center piece, “Fontana dei Quattro Fiumi” – “The Fountain of Four Rivers”

I love the lushness of the site surrounding the Circus Maximus – Rome, Lazio, Italy

l’Anfiteatro at Ostia Antica – what used to be Rome’s (Lazio, Italy) main port and trading center.. way back in the 5th century AD!

area behind the theater’s stage at Ostia Antica, Rome, Lazio, Italy

my neighborhood market in Trastevere, the neighborhood I lived in in Rome, Lazio, Italy. The best fresh fruit and veggies EVER =) I miss being able to walk 2 minutes down the road to buy 2 eggs, zucchini and strawberries. #EasyLiving

I don’t remember what building this is (don’t tell my professors!), but it was in the area of Rome near the Palazzo della Civiltà Italiana.. I love the shadows that the huge pillars/square columns create. And I’m slightly obsessed with travertine, the material that you see here.. but not as much as I am with wrought iron.

trees outside of Villa Adriana (Hadrian’s Villa) – Tivoli, Rome, Lazio, Italy

The first time I ever saw the ocean – in Napoli, Campania, Italy

the bridge I crossed in my neighborhood of Trastevere in order to climb the hill to l’Aventio – one of Rome’s famous hills – Rome, Lazio, Italy

A view from within. Climbing il Duomo by Brunelleschi in Florence, Tuscany, Italy

my teachers wouldn’t be pleased, but I’ve forgotten the name of this. I think it used to be an amphitheater, and in the Roman way it was used and reused, and now is part of an apartment building. I once thought it was the Colosseum while I wasn’t paying attention to where I was walking… yea.. lolz

My “postcard perfect” picture while riding the public transpiration boats in Venice, Veneto, Italy

Less than a 60 second walk away from my apartment in Rome – Piazza Trastevere!

A restaurant right outside of Pompeii! It had the best atmosphere and some AMAZING food. I’m an Italian food junky – and it’s no secret! – Pompeii, Campania, Italy

In a walled city – Gallese – looking out across the valley, through a circle in an iron gate, onto the next hill with a house on the edge! So neat! Gallese, Lazio, Italy

Another view from Gallese, across a valley, and on to the next ridge – Gallese, Lazio, Italy

Naturalmente (of course), a bridge that leads to my absolute favorite, Castelvecchio – which now a museum that was designed by Carlo Scarpa. – Verona, Veneto, Italy

That would be me on top of Castelvecchio, with a view across the Adige river and into the town. and #Crenelation.  I like that word.

I hope you all enjoyed the pictures!  I really miss all of my friends and professors there so much!  It was one of the best learning experiences I’ve ever had!

Until next time, Ci Vediamo!!! See you later!

What do you think?

