iDesign Sunday: take me there, I wanna go there!

Ok, so I’ve been writing Top 10 articles lately, and had an idea to make a list of the top 10 places I’d love to travel to and photograph. Simple enough. Here goes!

10. Marimekko Concept Store – NYC
This store has it all, the bright fabrics and patterns are crazy awesome and attractive. It’s not just for interior design – they also sell kitchen supplies and clothing! I am not sure if visitors are allowed to take pictures in here, but that’s ok – swooning over awesome fabrics and plates would be enough for me πŸ™‚

20120603-232710.jpg
Via

9. France
Just anywhere in France would be amazing. Le Louvre wouldn’t be a bad place to start!

20120603-233317.jpg
Via

8. University of Virginia
Charlottesville, VA
President Thomas Jefferson is the mastermind behind this university campus. It is designed to teach the evolution of the classical orders. It would be awesome to compile a collage starting with the first building all the way to rotunda. You could call it the mini “Pantheon.” By the look of the outside, it mimics the Roman Pantheon a lot. The interior is a different story. this information is brought to you by the knowledge instilled in me by my awesome Architecture II history professor.

20120603-235219.jpg
Via

7. Fort Smith, AR Historic District
Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
This is less than an hour away from me, yet I have not made my way there to explore. I missed an awesome Historic Society meeting there last month, as well. That makes me sad, I don’t want to talk about it 😦 anywho, local and historic attracts me, I can’t wait to get over there and see what is being preserved πŸ™‚

20120604-000402.jpg
Via

6. Thorncrown Chapel
Eureka Springs, Arkansas, USA

Designed by the wonderful Faye Jones (my school of architecture is named for him) in the hills of Northwest Arkansas, Thorncrown Chapel melds seamlessly with the surrounding nature. Rant style description: it has beautiful lines, open views, lovely wooden beams, a lot of glass, simple & native stone floor… Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous. Well, that’s what the pictures depict. I need to make my way there so I can tell you for myself πŸ™‚

20120604-002751.jpg
Via

Check out this photo by @calebpeter – an instagram fav that I follow. Β How gorgeous is this view?

Via

5. New Orleans French Quarters
Let’s talk history. The Louisiana purchase, French, African & Caribbean heritage, American Civil War, Hurricane Katrina. This land is rich in history. The French quarters as just one tiny bit of it, yet it is a bit that I would love to visit and photograph.

20120604-003644.jpg
Via

4. Savannah, Georgia
Yet another American town that has a rich history dating back to the time of early European settlement on this continent. Visit Savannah is an awesome website dedicated to the town’s tourism and history. A plus side, this town is home to the institution in which I would love to be a graduate student studying Historic Preservation!!! Savannah College of Art and Design (SCAD).

20120604-095327.jpg
Via

3. Rio de Janeiro
“I want to party, I want to samba.” Eating on the beach would be cool. I should learn Portuguese… I want to see the USA rock out at the World Cup in 2014. And can I dance in Carnival? Oh! Haha, architecture and art would be next on the list πŸ˜‰ Rio has a myriad of activities that would keep me snapping my camera and samba-ing my hips for days on end!!!

20120604-100243.jpg
Via

20120604-105108.jpg
Via

2. The Mortuary Temple of Queen Hatshepsut
Egypt
Female Pharaoh. There is power in that statement. This temple, designed by her royal architect and rumored lover, Senemut, depicts just how powerful she truly was. Once again, my lovely Architecture History professor sold this spot to me. She talked about the views that were part of Senemut’s design as one moves up the complex. I need to get pictures of these views πŸ™‚

20120604-111345.jpg
Via

20120604-111440.jpg
Via

1. Candi Borobudur
Indonesia
This ancient Buddhist temple is so intricately designed with so many possibilities of unique snapshots available. My number one place I’d like to visit and photograph has existed since the 9th century! The age alone amazes me. The views are breathtaking πŸ™‚

20120604-112323.jpg

20120604-112333.jpg
Via

So there you have it! The Top 10 places I reaaaaaally want to visit and photograph, and just relish in their beautiful, thought-provoking & well planned designs. Love, love, love πŸ™‚

Until next time, hopefully soon, Ci Vediamo!!!

2 thoughts on “iDesign Sunday: take me there, I wanna go there!

  1. Pingback: Arkansas Treasures – Part 2 | old world new girl

  2. Pingback: OWNG Born Day | oldworldnewgirl

What do you think?

