Weekly Photo Challenge: My 2012 in Pictures

Well looky there, 2012 will be over in just a few hours! Well, in my region of the world – in your region, it could already be history! Now, y’all know I like to talk, so I’m going to do something which is very difficult for me – I am going to be brief. For each moth I will give you {One Photo} and {One Sentence}.  Consider this a once in a blog-lifetime type of deal.

January - started practicing for my first modern dance performance for Black History Month, and the performance made the school's front page! (I'm on the far right.)

January – started practicing for my first modern dance performance for Black History Month, and the performance made the school’s front page! (I’m on the far right.)

February - I started this here blog - Old World New Girl!

February – I started this here blog – Old World New Girl!

March - I applied, got denied, but I tried; and failing kinda feels good, as long as I keep moving forward.

March – I applied, got denied, but I tried; and failing kinda feels good, as long as I keep moving forward.

April - Learned about professional videography while working on a project with one of my coworkers.

April – Learned more about professional videography while working on a project with one of my coworkers.

May - Took some photos of Old Main that I really love!

May – Took some photos of Old Main that I really love!

June - Started a business of selling hair accessories with my cousin!  www.facebook.com/KO.Bows

June – Started a business of selling hair accessories with my cousin – Knockout Bows!

July - Afforded the opportunity to display my art for the public to see for the first time!

July – Afforded the opportunity to display my art for the public to see AND sold a painting for the first time!

August - The first time I FaceTimed with my new nephew, freshly born!

August – The first time I FaceTimed with my new nephew, freshly born!

September - My first haircut in a few years!

September – My first haircut in a few years!

October - I decided which building would serve as my Sustainability Capstone muse - The Roberta Fulbright building by Warren Segraves.

October – I decided which building would serve as my Sustainability Capstone muse – The Roberta Fulbright building by Warren Segraves.

November - I cooked deer for the first time, and it was delicious!

November – I cooked deer for the first time, and it was delicious!

12. Dec. - Bday, Job, Winner!

December – Birthday, New Job {sustainability office) & #WINNING – I won my schools Greenblogger Competition!!! 🙂

Deciding which photos and stories to share with you has really made me sit back and look at all of the things I have accomplished this year, even though my best friend already reminded me that I needed to do so.  It is nice to step back from the craziness of being busy and see that my hard work has not been in vain.  I’m thankful that it was so difficult for me to decide just 12 moments from this year – that just means I have more blessings than I can count, 12 moments aren’t enough to begin to describe how blessed I am!

**********

Take a look here at Old World New Girl’s year in review:

Here’s an excerpt:

600 people reached the top of Mt. Everest in 2012. This blog got about 7,200 views in 2012. If every person who reached the top of Mt. Everest viewed this blog, it would have taken 12 years to get that many views.

Click here to see the complete report.

**********

Now, I don’t do “resolutions,” but I will list some ways to live by that I think are going to be very important for me next year.  Hopefully they will be beneficial to you, too!

•  Exercise regularly, and make it fun.

•  Apply myself 100% to whatever I choose to do.

•  Continue to stress less about things I can’t control.

•  Manage well that which I can control.

•  Go out into the world, and conquer anything I’m afraid I can’t conquer.  Or at least try, and fail.  Failing is good.  Then keep trying until I succeed.

•  Pray about it.  No matter what “IT” is.  PRAY.

Simple enough.  Now, a quote I found and made “fancy” with InstaWord.

Make your mistakes - Niel Gaiman

Until next YEAR, Ci Vediamo!!!

Old World New Girl

What do you think?

