12 Days of Old World New Girl

A year ago today, I registered for and created this blog for an interior design professional practice class.  I was oddly excited about it because I love to share my design point of view, yet I was also very green (oooh, sustainability pun).  I had no idea how much time it would require, nor how much I would love every minute I dedicated to it!  11 days later on February 12, 2012, I posted my first post, “Unique Inspiration.”  Boy oh boy, have I loved it ever since!  In honor of those 12 days in the first year of OWNG,  from February 1 to February 12 this year, I will share posts that will help remind y’all just what Old World New Girl is all about!  I hope it sparks some some creative fire and love for design inside of you!

Iron grave marker in Philadelphia Cemetery -  Arkansas, USA.  Cast and wrought iron grave markers were popular during the Victorian era (1830s-1900s).

Iron grave marker in Philadelphia Cemetery – Arkansas, USA. Cast and wrought iron grave markers were popular during the Victorian era (1830s-1900s).  Photo credit: Arkansas Historic Preservation Program facebook photos.

Keeping it simple today, I saw this lovely headstone on the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s facebook page, and it reminded me of one of my first posts “Graveyards and Design?”   That post is about iron (wrought and cast) gates at graveyards.

Two facts about Old World New Girl: (OWGN)

1.  OLD is the New New to me – I love design that is before my time (and the word most people use for this is “old”).  Just remember,  “Who says that old things can’t be nice?

2.  I love designed IRON!   And Robert Downey as Iron Man (yowza!!), but that’s so off topic.  Point blank, iron rocks my socks.

Stay tuned over the next 11 days as I show you just what Old World New Girl is all about!

Until next time, Ci Vediamo!!!

OWNG

What do you think?

