The Yum: Smothered Potatoes

smothered potatoes: true southern comfort food

Want an anytime dish that goes well with almost anything you cook?  Be it with eggs & toast, pork chops & mac-n-cheese, or as an after midnight snack, smothered potatoes are one tasty little treat!   My version of my papa’s recipe reminds me of being at my grandparent’s on summer days.  The breakfast was always huge and the dinner was always savory.

Ingredients (serves 2):

7 small-medium sized Potatoes (I prefer red)

1/4 medium Onion

Oil (olive, vegetable, or one of your preference)

Salt

Pepper (preferably crushed and not powdered)

Utensils:

Knife

Cutting board

Cooking pan with a Lid or something to safely cover it while the food cooks

*Bowls to put chopped onions and potatoes in are optional

Directions:

Separately dice the onion and potatoes.

Add oil to a cooking pan over medium heat.  Put onion in oil, and add a little salt and pepper.  Saute/sweat onions until they become a little translucent.  Next, add your diced potatoes.  In my cooking method, I like to add more oil if there doesn’t look to be enough to avoid burning the potatoes.  Add salt and pepper to your liking in the mix.

I like my potatoes well seasoned!  Let the potatoes cook covered for a minimum of 15 minutes, checking and stirring them during that time.  I then taste to know when the potatoes are done (they will no longer be crunchy).

the yummy results!

the yummy results!

cook the smothered potatoes yourself!

Try out this recipe, share it with your friends, let me know how you serve it and how it works for you! Bon appétit!

Until next time, Ci Vediamo!!!

OWNG

the man behind the original recipe, the late great chef, my Papa!

me & the man behind the original recipe, the late great chef, my Papa!

3 thoughts on “The Yum: Smothered Potatoes

  1. Pingback: Holiday Breakfast | old world new girl

  2. Pingback: Holiday Breakfasts | old world new girl

  3. Pingback: Taste, Trend, Topic: Refashioned | old world new girl

What do you think?

