Italy Week: Italian Food

Italian Food

How do I love the? Let me count the ways…

I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again: Italian food is my absolute favorite!  I’m not talking about any chain restaurant food that most Americans consider “Italian.”  Oh no, no, no.  Real Italian food tastes like God taught humans how to prepare manna and distribute it with pasta, a big hug, and love.  The fresh ingredients, the care with which it is all prepared, the pasta… Yea, I like pasta.  Pasta is so versatile and it comes in so many shapes, sizes and flavors.  But I digress… I could write a Romeo & Juliet type of story professing my love for pasta, but with a happy ending.  I shan’t put you through that today.  Instead, I’ll just tell you about a few of my favorite places to eat in Italy!  You, too, can eat like this new girl in that old world!

When in Rome…

il Boom: Ristorante Wine-Cocktail Bar

Eating here was a fun dining experience for a birthday celebration.   The atmosphere was actually kind of romantic on the night I went, as the lights were very dim.  The service was top-notch.  There were several options for pasta, one called the 7 sins, and it was the best that I tasted there.  I tasted everyone’s plate (lol).  Give them a try and let me know what you think!  Trip Advisor – il Boom / Meridionale

– – –

Dolce Vita

This was one of the last restaurants I had the pleasure of dining at before I returned the the USA.  With white and purple decor and cute little seats, this is a reasonably priced restaurant in Piazza Navona.  I, of course, ordered pasta con frutti del mare (pasta with fruit of the sea, or simply seafood pasta).  It was absolutely delicious!  Trip Advisor – Dolce Vita

~~~

Napoli (Naples)

Attori e Spettatori

My classmates and I wandered upon this restaurant one night while in Naples.  It was close to the shore and our hotel, and seemed like it was open only for us (meaning, there were no other patrons).  The owner / manager was a hoot!  He catered to our every need, while also trying to get us to purchase as much as possible.  I ordered a lasagna dish, and it was deliciousness in a bowl of layered pasta heaven.  Trip Advisor – Attori e Spettatori

– – –

Bacco e Arianna

In Naples/Pompeii, after venturing through gli scavi (the remains of the ancient city of Pompeii) my school group went to the restaurant right outside of the site,  Bocca e Arianna.  I was served a delicious mushroom pasta and a nice pot of tea.  Sitting outside under the canopy of orange and lemon trees with the brightly painted columns and flags of several countries flying was a bonus treat.  Random note: a sign outside as well as the tea cups carry the name “caffé del professore,” which is slightly confusing.  Trip Advisor – Bacco e Arianna

~~~

Venezia (Venice)

Trattoria Dona Onesta

This restaurant was recommended to me and my classmates by another student that had previously visited Venice, and it was the best recommendation, in my opinion.  I had a great dining experience here.  The antipasta of fresh veggies and mixed seafood pasta were amazing!

~~~

Siena, Toscana (Siena, Tuscany)

La Birreria

The dish that I got here is like magic to me simply because I have tried to re-create it a few times, yet I have not mastered it.  So, it is a unicorn.  Spaghetti, pancetta, eggs, cheese.  That is ALL.  Yet the timing of combining the ingredients and the heating process have to be perfetto!  Dear spaghetti alla carbonara, I will figure you out one day, and I’ll still treat you like the special unicorn that you are.  I love you.

~~~

After looking at all of the reviews that people leave on different websites like TripAdvisor.com, I see the extreme to which everyone has a different experience while dining in Italy.  I can only speak on my experiences, and I loved all of the food I ate at these restaurants.  I highly recommend each of them to you if you plan on visiting Italy.  If you, like me, don’t plan on hoping on a jet to Italy soon, this post is good for recipe ideas!  I’ll be attempting to make that dern spaghetti alla carbonara soon.   I will master it, too!  When I do, y’all will be among the first to know.  I’ll be so proud of my unicorn!

Until next time, Ci Vediamo!!!

One thought on “Italy Week: Italian Food

  1. Pingback: Italy Week: Round Up | old world new girl

What do you think?

