Caribbean Food in Dallas

Soooo… Yesterday I was all like…

Oooohhh, let me watch Scandal again (go Netflix!! woot woooot!)...  & I've always wanted to crochet a cowl.  Yea, I'll crochet a cowl.  Now, where's my tea?

Oooohhh, let me watch Scandal again (go Netflix!! woot woooot!)… & I’ve always wanted to crochet a cowl. Yea, I’ll crochet a cowl. Now, where’s my tea?

Then this happened.

Mi hermana got home and asked if I wanted to eat?  Well… the answer to that is YES 95% of the time.  The 5% did not win this time.  Then she asked did I want to try the Caribbean place, seeing as I let her know that Caribbean and Indian food were at the top of my Dallas to-do list lol.

And then I was like…

crazy happy

OOOoooooOOOoooooohhhh!!!

but not hell.. oh no, no, no.

Tonight, we dine in… not hell.. oh no, no, no.

 

Tonight, we dine at The Island Spot!

 

That sounds more comfortable, right?  Comfortable and delicious.

Beef Paty

Beef Patty

My entire plate.  Ackee & Saltfish with fries and a sub side of fried plantain.

My entire plate. Ackee & Saltfish with fries and fried plantain.

closer..

closer..

and even closer.. Can you smell the fish?  Can you taste the yum?  Umm, Uuuummm!

and even closer.. Can you smell the fish? Can you taste the yum? Umm, Uuuummm!

I really love beef patties & plantain already, so those two were a MUST.  I’ve never had Ackee & Saltfish before, so last night was the perfect time to try it.  It was very good!

Although their menu was relatively small, I can’t wait to try more.  Overall, I give The Island Spot a 3.5/5 stars on my scale.  The plantain was absolutely on point, but I was a little less enthusiastic about the beef patty.  But don’t get me wrong, it was still good.   I had nothing to compare the Ackee & Saltfish to since it was my first time tasting it, but it was delicious and flavorful!  I would suggest this place to any of you that happen to be in the area!

the-island-spot

Until we eat again =) Ci Vediamo!!!

One thought on “Caribbean Food in Dallas

What do you think?

