Holiday Breakfast

The most important meal of the day

Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day.. Well, only because food is one of the first things I think of when I wake up.  And I can turn into a Hangry monster if I am not fed before I start my day.  But, I digress.  Just as breakfast is important to the kiddos that go off to school every morning, it is important on holiday mornings.

One should not get so lost in preparing the meal that they forget about slowing it down and having a nice family breakfast to start the day.  When I was younger, my grandparents and aunts and uncles took time away from the dressing and greens to prepare eggs and ham and smothered potatoes for the masses of grandchildren running around the house.  It is in those moments that we all would sit still, be thankful for all of our blessings, and just enjoy each other in our purist form: straight out of bed, hair everywhere, and pajamas still on.  Afterwards, the hectic schedule would start – getting dressed, dressing the younger kids, taming hair, and stopping by several family members’ houses to greet them and grab a plate of Thanksgiving or Christmas dinner!

I don’t prepare such elaborate breakfasts while celebrating the holidays with my friends and family now, but I do have a few special treats that are a must each holiday.  I take a break from my dressing and greens preparation, just as my elders did, and I love to make the following.

cinnamon rolls & piggies

cinnamon goodness and little piggies with part of the dinner chilling in the background

Pigs in a Blanket

Ingredients:

1 package of little wieners

1 package of crescent rolls

1 block of cheddar cheese (medium, sharp, very sharp – however you like.  It all gets gooey in the end)

Prep:

Thinly slice cheese into pieces that are small enough to be rolled into the crescent (about the size of the first

Cut each crescent roll into half or 3 pieces (as you wish)

Assembly:

For each triangle of crescent, place one wiener and slice of cheese.  Roll as instructed on the crescent roll package, and bake according to the crescent instructions.

Done-zo!

Cinnamon Rolls

Pillsbury holds it down, no questions.

chai masala

chai masala tea

Masala Chai Tea

Any warm drink will do, chai tea happens to be my favorite!

Voila!

All so simple, with just a touch of homemade-ness to make it even better.  How do you enjoy your breakfast during the hustle and bustle of the holidays?  If you have never taken the chance to slow down for breakfast on the holidays, try my method above.  Take a break from the major preparations and have a quiet little breakfast!

I hope everyone’s holidays are off to a good start… I must get back to the kitchen and finish my prep for Thanksgiving!

Until next time, Ci Vediamo!!!

What do you think?

