“It Takes A Village…”

ittakesavillage_dojang_yKart

Support

For anything to work, there must first be one person to believe in it, and then a group of people to believe in both that person and their vision; a system of minds willing to make this vision work.  – ADB/OWNG

Growing up, I was told and saw that “It takes a village to raise a child.”  I was that child – my dad, siblings, grandparents, aunts, uncles, older cousins, church family, instructors, girls scout leader (et cetera) were my village.  Travel down my timeline a few years and you’ll see beautifully woven web of support systems full of other people that have believed in the crazy and amazing things my mind conceive. Heck, I even have difficulty believing in that stuff sometimes hahaha!

JBD-1673

We all have moments of self-doubt. A great support system will remind you why self-doubt should never cross your mind.

Ok, back in this time machine – let’s go back before a lot of our times, to Martin Luther King, Jr.  There were people before him who had dreamt of and worked towards racially equality.  In his time he stood on the shoulders of the giants that came before him.  With his vision, the United States of America made more strides toward ending the harsh racial disparities that existed than most thought humanly possible. No matter how great his dream was, my dream is, or your dream may be – without even a tiny support system – it is hard to make our visions into reality.  Honestly, if you are able to do it by yourself, who will you celebrate your victory with?  Not with only yourself, I hope. MLK entourage Having mentors, friends that are just as ambitious as you & family or people like family to support you is very important at the end of the day.

Blogging Support System

On this annual day of celebrating the great man that was Martin Luther King, Jr., and with the second full year of blogging coming to a close, I’d like to recognize the importance of and thank my blogging support system.

It started at school

I started this blog as a class project (spring 2012) and haven’t looked back since. #NerdStatus. Thanks to my professor Landon Shockey for the assignment and my fellow Interior Design students for the encouragement!  Soon afterwards I participated in the Office for Sustainability Green Blogger Competition in (Fall 2012).  I won the competition and in Spring 2013 went on to work for that office!  (see networking below).

Blogging Conferences

Thanks to my OFS job, I was able to attend WordCamp Fayetteville.  I learned many valuable lessons while there, one being that I want to attend more blogging conferences!  Conferences like those hosted by Blogher and local meet-ups pique my interest.

WordCamp Fayetteville

Networking

It’s not about what you know, or even who you know.  It’s about who knows you. – unknown

who_knows_you Get out there.  Tell people who you are.  Learn who other people are.  Engage.  Be genuine. My favorite network to participate in right now is Texas Women Bloggers.  TWB is a place where I can ask questions and receive answers from seasoned bloggers, I can share my blog’s content, and I can read about the life and adventures of other women bloggers across Texas.  The ladies over there are amazing, and I love reading their blogs, too.  I’m proud to be apart of this group, which I originally learned about from Arkansas Women Bloggers (I “transferred” membership after moving to Texas last year).

Books.

Because books (and google) are always a good support system to have in whatever you do. Books got ya’ back.
Blog Inc
Blog Inc. by Joy Deangdeelert Cho of oh joy! blog was a very good read.  I recommend it to anyone that is serious about starting a blog, developing its content, and taking it to a higher level.

The PEOPLE who support You

Those that go above and beyond to help you get what you need for your content.  Friends and siblings that agree to let you post about them on your blog, other bloggers that interact with you, people who follow your blog simply because they like your content, and people that help contribute to your content.

Thank You!

To the current OWNG support system, I say, “Thank you!”  This here little corner of the interwebs means a lot to me, and I’m so glad when my content can make someone else smile, encourage someone to be creative or thrifty, or just show me and someone else that we are not alone in our weird, quirky thoughts.  Molto grazie! owng_thank_you Why did you start your blog, and who supports you to keep going?  If you don’t blog, how does your support system help you in whatever you do?  Let’s talk about it in the comments section below! Until next time, Ci Vediamo, and Happy Martin Luther King, Jr. Day!!! OWNG

Find Me!

Facebook | Twitter | Tumblr | Pinterest |Bloglovin’ | Google +

6 thoughts on ““It Takes A Village…”

  1. Happy one year anniversary and you are so right, a support system is so important. Often, it is the difference between success and failure.

What do you think?

