DIY Rope + Brooch Necklace

OWNG | DIY Rope + Brooch Necklace

After searching (for as long as my attention span would allow) for a necklace to compliment my Easter Outfit, and being completely over the mall and all of it’s madness (I’m sure I was there for an hour), I decided I would make my own dang necklace!  After all, it’d be one of a kind – I could make exactly what I wanted.  But it’d have to be easy.  Like, let’s say, have so much fun the entire weekend that I had to make it 15 minutes before church, easy.  It’s. That. Easy.  Let’s get to it!

– – –

Do you know how to braid?  Can you shop at a thrift store?  Yea?!  Yea!!  Well this DIY project is just for you!  Here’s the How To:

1.  Purchase your Materials:

Bare Essentials

– 4.5 yards of craft cord/home decor trim (found at a craft store)

– a brooch  (preferably found at a thrift/resale store or a garage sale)

Extra Stuff

– tape (to stop raveling if using decor trim)

– thin craft wire (to provide a clean finish look)

OWNG | DIY Rope + Brooch Necklace

Now don’t let me get started on the thrift store vs. garage sale prices.  I’ve shopped at thrift stores my entire life, but due to their popularity over the past few years, the prices of their merchandise have gone up.  I paid $6 & $11 for brooches from the thrift store, whereas I paid $1 each for brooches from a garage sale.  I love my brooches equally, though.  They are all truly one of a kind.

OWNG | DIY Rope + Brooch Necklace

OWNG | DIY Rope + Brooch Necklace

2 on left – thrifted; 2 on right – garage sale finds

2. Cut the cord/trim into 3 equal parts.

OWNG | DIY Rope + Brooch Necklace

If using the 4.5 yards, cut into 1.5 yard pieces.

3. Hold the 3 pieces together and tie a knot, leaving at least 1.5″ at the end.

OWNG | DIY Rope + Brooch Necklace

4. Braid.  And braid some more.  Until you reach the end, then you tie a knot again.

OWNG | DIY Rope + Brooch Necklace

5.  Decide your end finish – tie end with wire or let it be.

OWNG | DIY Rope + Brooch Necklace

OWNG | DIY Rope + Brooch Necklace

Leave the ends loose for a free look, or tie the optional wire around the ends for a polished look.

6.  Place the braided cord around your neck, and secure the two ends with the brooch of your preference.

OWNG | DIY Rope + Brooch Necklace

Left:  6 yards of craft cord (knotted behind brooch to make shorter);  Center, 4.5 yards of decor trim;  Right: 3 yards of decor trim.

7.  Be fabulous!

audrey-dwi-gif

– – –

And that’s that, folks!  In 7 steps, for the low-low ($), you have created your own fashionably late necklace!

OWNG | DIY Rope + Brooch Necklace

I like to wear mine with long and flowing open tops, like so:

OWNG | DIY Rope + Brooch Necklace

 

OWNG | DIY Rope + Brooch Necklace

But I know they can be styled many more ways!

Will you make your own DIY Rope Necklace and share your styling of it with me?  You can find Old World New Girl on almost any social media site to share your rendition.

Connect With Me!

Facebook | Twitter | Tumblr | Pinterest | Bloglovin’ | Google +

Until next time, Ci Vediamo!!!

OWNG

 

6 thoughts on “DIY Rope + Brooch Necklace

  1. This is cute and creative! I agree it looks nice with your long flowy shirt. I also think it would be pretty with a fitted, one-color dress, because it would be a great statement piece against a solid background.

What do you think?

