12 Hours Shifts & 30 Minute Meals

Y’all.. Let me tell you about my day yesterday. It’s not so horrible, but I worked my first 12 hour shift, like ever. That is, if you don’t count studio all-nighters in college. This is the real world.  At first I was feeling super whiny-baby-ish about it. “Why me, Lord, why me?!”  I got over it, though, and got that work done-zo! #YouBetterWerk.

So what do you do with your life after racking your brain for 12 hours at an engineering firm, leaving with no sliver of sunlight remaining outside to increase your personal sanity/life enjoyment. I sure as heck wasn’t about to get fast food, that would only weigh me down more than the bags under my eyes were already doing. I made my way to Walmart and thought of a quick-fix meal on the spot, and I am so proud of the delicious outcome!  It took less than 30 minutes to orchestrate, prepare and eat this meal.

Shrimp and Couscous with a Baked Potato

Basic Ingredients (excluding oil, salt, pepper, & butter)

Basic Ingredients (excluding oil, salt, pepper, & butter)

I’ve let y’all in on the secret of this shrimp recipe before.  5 minute microwaveable shrimp was my BFF last night.  My side baked potato was a PotatOH! which comes packaged in a plastic wrap that magically assists in a speedy microwave cooking process. It took just 7 minutes to get that spud ready for massive consumption.  I topped it with my favorites – lots of butter (the real stuff, no margarine), mild cheddar cheese, bacon bits, and salt & pepper. That’s heaven right there, y’all – potato heaven anyway.

The couscous was just as simple, but made on the stove top. I made it first – I brought the water to a boil, and added the couscous, olive oil and salt per the instructions.  All I had to do after that was stir it, take it off of the heat, cover it and let it sit.  After sitting for a while, you just need to “fluff” it.  Ridiculously simple.  Fluffy, fluffy.

Check out the result!

couscous

I ended up staying up late not because of this quick & easy meal, but because I had to tame my hair and watch my Redbox I’ve had for 3 days now.  The Monuments Men was an ok movie – but only one of my eyes was open for most of it.  I’ll have to try to watch it again when I’m awake haha.  Anywho, I’m writing this on my lunch break – let me get back to work!  Ciao ciao, y’all!

Connect with me!

Facebook | Twitter | Tumblr | Pinterest | Bloglovin’ | Google +

owng signature - addie

4 thoughts on “12 Hours Shifts & 30 Minute Meals

What do you think?

