Currently Working On… | 24 luglio 2014

Spreading My Wings

I’ve been a recluse (somewhat) over this past year that I’ve been in Dallas.  Woah, wait.. I can’t believe that I’ve almost been here a year, yikes!  I remember the days when folks would ask if I was moving to Dallas after college.  I guess that is a reasonable question because so many people that graduate from college in Arkansas migrate to Dallas, TX.  My answer was always – “I’m never moving back to Texas.  Nothing negative, I just don’t want to be there.  It’s not for me.”  I’m sure God was up on the clouds getting a good laugh in because he obviously had very different plans for my life.  I wanted to be in a smaller, community-oriented, historic and artistic place that is full of culture and open-minded folks.  I had a stereotype of Dallas being full of city-slickers with no sense of community.  While I’m still not just the biggest fan of living in a metroplex type of area, I am finding a community to be apart of.  Here I is, Dallas (suburb)-living.  So, I’m going to stop being a recluse and start to spread my wings.  I’m going to go where people invite me, and invite y’all to where I go.  It’s time for me to fly, y’all.  If you see me in the sky, or just out and around town, say hey.  I love when people speak.  I’m a hugger, too… so hugs are welcome =)  In the mean time, I’ll be over here taking a million selfies as I go on about my life. 

selfies lately

Moving & Decorating 

I just moved into my own apartment here.   Since I had no intentions of permanently being in Dallas, I lived with my sister over the last year.  Getting my own apartment makes this move feel permanent, which I had fought for so long.  I was supposed to be in grad school at SCAD (Savannah, GA) studying architecture!  I’ve beat myself up so much since I found out I would not get funding for it, thereby making attending my dream school impossible.   I mean, I felt like getting my acceptance letter on my birthday in 2012 meant that only good news would follow!  I’ve since experienced that just because news isn’t the news I want to be, it does not automatically qualify as “bad news.”  I can see a few ways of how living in Dallas is just what I need in life right now, and I’m sure in the years to come I will see even more in hindsight.  I’m grateful for it.

I digress.  I am in my own place and I have a lot of DIY ideas in mind.  This is going to be so much fun to share with y’all.  For now, I’ll leave you with an inspiration board.  Hallelujah for that interior design training.  If you know anyone hiring… lol =)

apartment inspiration

Living 

… and not just existing.

live

What have y’all been up to lately?  Let me know in the comments below!

I’ll holla!

Connect with me!

Facebook | Twitter | Tumblr | Pinterest | Bloglovin’ | Google +

owng signature - addie

 

6 thoughts on “Currently Working On… | 24 luglio 2014

  1. I’ve missed your blog!! Years ago, while I was still at Guess? I applied to Parson’s in NYC because I wanted to do more design AND I wanted to live in NYC. Well. I got accepted but to late for financial aid! So that was a no go. Then I went to Europe and the rest is history. Things ALWAYS work out for a reason. Can’t wait to see pics of the new apartment.

  2. I’m from Arkansas (and went to U of A). I’ve been in Dallas for 5 years and have yet to really experience it. I look forward to your adventures and hope to get some ideas.

    • Fay is my hometown & I went to the UofA, as well! I miss the small town feel of a decent-sized city, but I’m enjoying experiencing something different. And hey I’m always down to hang out with a fellow Arkansan if you want to get out sometimes! =)

What do you think?

